BALCONY Urges Support of Member Events  
BALCONY, the Business and Labor Coalition of New York, urges you to support key members of our coalition: NYCOSH, WhyHunger, Dēmos, and
The Anne Frank Center.  Please attend these events in June 2011.



The New York Committee for Occupational Safety and Health (NYCOSH) has for 31 years been a leading independent voice for worker safety and health. Committed to ensuring that all workplaces are safe and healthy, NYCOSH provides training and resources to workers while advocating for strong laws and regulations.

Join NYCOSH for an Awards Celebration:

Thursday, June 2, 2011, 6:00-8:30 pm (cost: $175)

At the United Federation of Teachers, 52 Broadway, Manhattan


NYCOSH is proud to recognize Joseph and Linda Zadroga in honor of the passage
of the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010.

Danny Donohue, President, Local 1000, CSEA and Domestic Workers United will be honored as NYCOSH's 2011 honorees.

The recipient of NYCOSH's 2011 Karen Silkwood Award is Lee Clarke, Safety and Health Director, District Council 37, AFSCME

For more information please visit this link: NYCOSH
or contact: Joel Shufro at 212-227-6440 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            212-227-6440      end_of_the_skype_highlighting 




Founded in 1975, WhyHunger is a leader in the fight against hunger and poverty in the United States and around the world.

Join the WhyHunger Chapin Awards:

An unforgettable evening of dinner, drinks and music as we celebrate champions in the fight against hunger and poverty.

Monday, June 6, 2011 (cost: $500)

5:30 pm Cocktails & Silent Auction
7:00 pm Dinner & Ceremony

Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers
Pier 61, New York

Business Attire


Mark Bittman
Famed journalist, cookbook author and advocate for a healthier food system

Rubén Blades
Legendary Panamanian musician, actor, lawyer and political leader

2010 Harry Chapin Self Reliance Award Winners

Ten extraordinary community-based organizations working through innovative, proven and scalable solutions to combat hunger and poverty in their communities

For more information visit the site WhyHunger .  Please contact: Karen Rosenberg at 212-625-1025 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            212-625-1025      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or 




Dēmos is a non-partisan public policy research and advocacy organization that works with advocates and policymakers around the country in pursuit of four overarching goals: a more equitable economy with widely shared prosperity and opportunity; a vibrant and inclusive democracy with high levels of voting and civic engagement; an empowered public sector that works for the common good; and responsible U.S. engagement in an interdependent world.

Join Dēmos' Transforming America Awards and Gala Celebration:

A celebration of Dēmos' work over the past year and to honor leaders who have advanced our vision of shared economic prosperity, inclusive democracy, effective government, and responsible U.S. engagement in the world.

Tuesday June 7th, 2011, 6:00 -9:00 pm (cost: $350)

Edison Ballroom, 240 West 47th Street, New York City

Dēmos Transforming America Awardees:

Ron Bloom, Assistant to the President for Manufacturing Policy, and Bob King, International President of United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW)

Bob Herbert, Award-winning former New York Times Journalist
Rosario Dawson and Maria Teresa Kumar, Co-Founders of Voto Latino

Special Appreciation

Recognition of Miles Rapoport for his first 10 years as President of Dēmos

For more information please visit Dēmos at or

Contact: Fati Ahmed: 212-419-8770 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            212-419-8770      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or
The Anne Frank Center USA

Anne Frank Center


The Anne Frank Center USA is a not-for-profit organization that promotes the universal message of tolerance by developing and disseminating a variety of educational programs, including exhibitions, workshops, and special events.

Join The Anne Frank Centers' 15th Annual Spirit of Anne Frank Awards:

Monday, June 13, 2011 (cost: $600)

6:30 pm Cocktail Reception and Silent Auction
7:30 pm Dinner and Award Ceremony

ESPACE: 635 West 42nd Street, between 11th and 12th Avenues, New York City


Distinguished Advocate Award: Sy Sternberg, Retired Chairman and CEO of New York Life

Honorary Gala Chairs: Ina and Jaap Polak, Officer, Order of Orange Nassau

Honorary Dinner Chairs: Preston J. Douglas Esq. and Sharon R. Douglas, Martin Friedmanand Suzanne Waltman

For more information please visit 

or contact: Jenny Weinar at (212) 431-7993 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            (212) 431-7993      end_of_the_skype_highlighting x 304 

BALCONY September Golf Outing 
BALCONY will hold a Golf Outing in September.
Details to be announced.
Golf Outing Please indicate your interest in this golf outing by e-mailing Angela Severiano, Golf Outing Coordinator, at:

or call BALCONY at (212) 219-7777 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            (212) 219-7777      end_of_the_skype_highlighting 


(212) 219-7777 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            (212) 219-7777      end_of_the_skype_highlighting

4 West 43rd Street | Suite 405 | New York, NY 10036


   Alan Lubin                         Bruce Ventimiglia
Co-Chair BALCONY           Co-Chair BALCONY
Labor                                     Business

Lou Gordon, BALCONY Director

Diane Masters, Development Administrator
Kristina Siapkara, Research Director
Kevin R. Weaver, Web/Computer Services

BALCONY IS A 501(C)(4) Organization
Contributions are not tax deductible

(Click the map above to view the latest BALCONY Member Directory)